Yesterday, on the 15th of March 2019, S.L.T department of polytechnic EDE held her orientation program for the freshers (newbie in school).

The program was organized by NASTES executives Federal Polytechnic Ede chapter. The program started late in the afternoon and ended at Sunset.

Before the program kick started officially, a final football match occurred (H.O.D’s cup) between ND1 FT (Full time students) and HND2 students of S.L.T department. Also before the match, the H.O.D of the department, Dr Ugwu N.U, urged the football players to play a fair game.

The match was breathtaking ending in penalties. At the end of the penalty shootout, ND1 FT claimed the trophy with five goal to four (5-4 on penalties).


Olatunji Taiwo who was the goalkeeper of the ND1 FT football team was named/awarded as the goalkeeper of the department.

The department’s course adviser, Mrs Iromini was far from being absent. The Dean of student’s affairs , Alhaji Adelabu was also present at this lively event. The likes of Dr Taleat A.A, a notable lecturer of the S.L.T department was present to grace this colorful event. Dr. Adebeshin, a strong pillar of the department was on seat at the event.

Other dignitaries, sponsors of the event and honourable lectures were also on seat to be part of the orientation program.

As soon as the orientation program began officially, the H.O.D , Dr Ugwu N.U, gave the opening speech. He urged the students (Especially the Freshers) to be of good conduct. He also encouraged them to face their academics solidly and make sound grades this ongoing semester.

Dr. Adebeshin gave a similar talk in a brilliant way.

The President of the department, Adelola Oluwasesan Joseph gave a concise speech (In less than two minutes) assuring the students that He and his crew (HUMANITY CREW) would be of service to make the department better in every sense.

At the middle of the event, a debate contest was put on stage. The debate topic was this – “Sexual harassment is caused by the females” . A heated debate between ND1 FT and ND1 DPT (supporting the motion) against ND1 RPT ( who was against the motion) students. The representatives who supported the motion that “sexual harassment is caused by the females” won the contest. The winners (Names) of the debate contest are listed below :

1. Sofiyat Shittu
2. Gift Adeniyi
3. Igbiniola Temiloluwa
4. Oyejobi Iyinoluwa Dorcas
5. Badmus AbdulMalik
6. Adebiyi Grace Oluwatosin

In a nutshell, the orientation program was a brilliant one. We wish the freshers (Newbie) of the S.L.T department (Of Ede Polytechnic) sound success in their academics. Proudly brought to you by; TC DIARY! Have a great weekend.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here